AWARDS INFORMATION & CRITERIA GUIDE



Federal Managers Association 78th National Convention & Management Training Seminar

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Gil Guidry Award	
Manager of the Year Award	3
Special Recognition Awards	
Odell Green Award	5
President's Award	6

The National Secretary is responsible for administering the various FMA Awards and maintaining up-to-date selection/nomination criteria. If additional information is needed or you have suggestions or comments, please let me know. Thank You.

> Christine Parker FMA National Secretary

Gilbert N. Guidry Memorial Award

This annual award is presented to the outstanding Federal Managers Association Chapter President in memory of Gilbert N. Guidry, President of Chapter 4, Philadelphia Naval Shipyard, whose leadership represents the finest tradition of service to the United States of America and to the principles of FMA.

Presentation

The winner of this award is announced during the annual National Convention.

History

The award for outstanding Chapter President was established in memory of the late Gilbert N. Guidry, former President of Chapter 4, Philadelphia Naval Shipyard.

In recognition of their excellent leadership and dedication to FMA, Gil Guidry Award winners receive lifetime FMA membership, a plaque, and their name on a perpetual plaque displayed at the National Office. All nominees receive special recognition.

Nomination Criteria

The winner of the Gil Guidry "Outstanding Chapter President" Award is determined by two to three judges who work for or possess substantial experience with the federal government. The winner is selected from written evaluations submitted by FMA Region Directors.

Each nominating Region Director has provided a statement to the panel of judges detailing how the nominee has worked to achieve the overall objectives of the Federal Managers Association by:

- Increasing the efficiency of the managerial force;
- Promoting the social, intellectual, and material welfare of the membership;
- Establishing mutual understanding, respect, and working relationships with responsible representatives of community, city, state, and federal government;
- Promoting, supporting, and defending legislation clearly beneficial to the membership and to the nation;
- Vigorously opposing legislation clearly detrimental to the welfare of the membership and the nation's security; and
- In every endeavor, promoting justice, maintaining integrity, and assuring equality for all.

Note: The nominating statement is limited to two typewritten pages ("8½ x 11") with no less than 1-inch margins on the sides, top and bottom using 11-point print and Arial font. The nominee must either be a current or former FMA Chapter President. Regions with up to 15 chapters may submit the name of one (1) nominee and regions with more than 15 chapters may submit the names of two (2) nominees.

Previous "Gil" Guidry Award Winners

<u>Year</u>	Name	Zone/Region	<u>Chapter</u>
1981	Dennis A. Rowell	10	28
1982	John M. Ellis	8	77
1983	Richard J. Scoppe	3	21
1984	Michael B. Styles	10	195
1985	Larry J. Cheever	5	83
1986	Barbara Stuck	11	19
1987	Robert J. Wolff	6	128
1988	Glenn A. Fierst	2	186
1989	Berry D. Jordan	4	121
1990	Frank McClafferty	1	4
1991	Yvonne Ajimura	11	19
1992	Emery L. Spirko	1	228
1993	Gary E. Boutwell	4	12
1994	J.B. Larkins	10	10
1995	Dave G. Edmiston	4	95
1996	Theresa J. Novak	8	307
1997	Richard J. Oppedisano	1	88
1998	Kenneth B. McDaniels	1	228
1999	Bert Gaulke	7	126
2000	Richard Conlon	3	322
2001	John Cuorato	1	208
2002	Michael Donovan	1	88
2003	Sherman G. Williams	6	99
2004	Donald A. McCall	3	21
2005	George J. Smith	3	11
2006	John C. Priolo	7	19
2007	R. Thomas Butler	6	14
2008	Patricia J. Niehaus	7	167
2009	Alvin W. Anderson	2	3
2010	Dora L. Quinlan	2	11
2011	Renee M. Johnson	2	21
2012	Janie Riley	2	313
2013	Gerald R. Beyl	4	14
2014	Rowland Harper, Jr.	2	8

Manager of the Year Award

The Manager of the Year Award is presented to an outstanding manager or supervisor in the federal government who is a current member of the Federal Managers Association.

Presentation

The winner of this award is announced in *The Federal Manager* magazine winter edition.

Nomination Criteria

Chapters nominate one nominee to their respective Region Director. Region Directors submit the name of the nominee(s)* and supporting documentation to the FMA National Office. **

•	Local community accomplishments/contributions	(10% weight factor)
•	Workplace accomplishments/contributions	(60% weight factor)
•	FMA involvement at the chapter, region or national level	(30% weight factor)

NOTE:

* Regions with membership of 1,000 or less may submit the name of one (1) nominee; regions with membership of 1,001 or more may submit the name of two (2) nominees.

** The supporting documentation submitted shall be limited to two (2) "8 1/2 x 11" pages with no less than 1-inch margins on the sides, top and bottom using 11 point print and Arial font.

Selection

The winner of the Manager of the Year Award is determined by a panel of non-FMA members. The winner is selected from the written evaluations submitted.

Recognition

- Recognition of all nominees;
- Individual plaque for the winner;
- Winner announced in The Federal Manager magazine; and
- Winner's name, chapter, and region displayed on perpetual plaque at the National Office.

Previous Manager of the Year Award Winners

Year	Name	Zone/Region	<u>Chapter</u>
1995	Lamar Wasdin	4	12
1996	Stephen J. Spotts	9	132
1997	· · ·		322
1998	Donald E. Robbins	10	143
1999	1999 Juanita Mildenberg 2		123
2000	-		205
2001 Wayne G. Wilcox		7	19
2002 Dr. James C.S. Meng 6		6	99
2003	Joseph Freda	1	6
2004	Herbert I. Nakamura	6	99
2005 Eric Y. Kimura 7		7	19
2006	2006 Linda S. Johnson 6		14
2007	2007 Ileen Wong 7		19
2008 Dora Quinlan 3		11	
2009 Donald A. McCall 2		21	
2010	Carolyn D. Bohlen, Ph.D.	3	375
2011	James VanAntwerp	4	99
2012	Harl H. Sanderson Jr.	4	381
2013	Eugene S. Dalrymple	4	14
2014	Diane Crocker	4	99

Odell Green Award

This award recognizes excellence by a member of the Executive Board in the preceding year. It was established in memory of Odell Green who performed exemplary service for FMA. Odell served for two years as the Zone 8 President and was former president of Chapter 16, Mare Island Naval Shipyard in Vallejo, California. He passed away in 1992.

Presentation

The winner of this award is announced during the annual National Convention.

The winners' names are engraved for display on a perpetual plaque at the National Office.

Year	Name	Zone/Region
1992	Catherine A. Leyser	12
1993	Jose J. Guzman	5
1994	Darryl A. Perkinson	3
1995	Alfred W. Hutchinson	6
1996	Berry D. Jordan	4
1997	Bradford M. Casas	3
1998	Emery L. Spirko	1
1999	Michael E. Donovan	1
2000	John C. Priolo	7
2001	Patricia A. Spade	4
2002	Winford Sartin	8
2003	Sherie M. Lewis	6
2004	Jacqueline E. Bell	2
2005	Michael B. Styles	8
2006	Leonard F. Lew	7
2007	James V. Mahlmann	2
2008	Stephanie Schmittler	6
2009	Richard Oppedisano	1
2010	George Smith	2
2011	Patricia J. Niehaus	4
2012	Dora L. Quinlan	2
2013	Richard J. Oppedisano	1
2014	Katherine L. Smith	4

Previous Odell Green Award Winners

President's Award

This award recognizes a chapter in the Association that has displayed outstanding leadership and service to its facility, community, agency, and nation during the past year.

Presentation

The winner of this award is announced during the annual National Convention.

<u>Year</u>	<u>Chapter</u>
1996	125
1997	21
1998	3
1999	14
2000	247
2001	186
2002	322
2003	19
2004	11
2005	216
2006	275
2007	187
2008	208
2009	14
2010	228
2011	381
2012	21
2013	99
2014	252

Previous President's Award Winners